ADVERTISEMENT

Coaches Stealing Pitching Signs

Jul 29, 2015
I have been coaching TB and HS ball for about 13 years and have truly only ran across this maybe 5 times. Just want to get others thoughts on coaches Stealing Pitching Signs.

In lower levels, my only issue is when a team positions a coach or other on the outside of the fence, with the expressed purpose of stealing signs, and relaying the information. This is against the spirit of the game, and a poor lesson to teach a young player.

In high school there are ways to counter with a smart outside the fence fan base.

If a coach in the coaches box, or someone in the dugout can steal signs, then the team signaling the signs is doing something wrong.

On the college level, from what I have seen, all bets are off. And the reason most all college teams wear multiple pages of armband codes and get their signals verbally by number from coach. With the codes changing on a continuous basis.

Seen parents and coaches in the younger level (12U) almost come to blows over this. As players get older it becomes recognized as a tactic others may use, and teams learn counter measure to combat it.

In my opinion as a hitter, it is best for your young player to learn how to hit on her own, still learning, instinct. Don't take shortcuts. For established hitters this information can be useful. But by then it seems more difficult to get the correct information. My hitter has never benefitted from getting advanced signals, and from a hitter, don't try to give her advanced information. It does not help development in the long term.

Last edited:
I never stole signals but have zero problem with those that do. I am embarrassed for any coach that doesn't have a pick proof system. People may not like what you have to do to hide them but it is a huge deal if a batter knows what is coming. The signal picking shows up as BS100 said at young levels. I don't remember it in 10U but for sure its widespread by 12U.